In This Section

A+   A-

RFSA congratulates Honours and Awards recipients

Friday, 03 July 2015

The Association was pleased to announce this year’s Honours and Awards recipients at a presentation ceremony conducted at RFSA Conference 2015. 

The award recipients were:
Member of the Year
Walter Gately
Life Member
Brian McKinlay AFSM, OAM
Peter Middleton

Recognised for his commitment over many years, Member of the Year Walter Gately is a member of Solitary Rural Fire Brigade and has been a dedicated supporter of the RFSA since the Coffs Harbour Branch was formed in 1998.  

Wal, as he is affectionately known, has been Chairperson the Coffs Branch, which is located in RFSA Division 2, since 1999. In that time he has been extremely active in attending Divisional meetings, ensuring information is communicated to Branch members and is currently working with local Members towards building a future RFSA Branch in the Bellingen region

Brian McKinlay AFSM OAM was inducted as RFSA Life Member for his commitment and dedication to the Association since its inception close to 20 years ago.

Brian has been actively involved in various capacities including five years as State President. His involvement as a member of the State Executive for the past nine years has enabled the Association to focus strategically on achieving outcomes for the benefit of its Members. 

One of Brian’s major achievements as President was the restructuring of Association representation in 2009 by creating 16 Divisions.

These Divisions replaced the eight regions that existed at the time in order to facilitate greater representation on the RFSA State Council.

This new structure, as it continues to exist today, enables Members to contribute to Association matters more effectively at a local level.

Peter Midddleton was awarded RFSA Life Member for his over 15 years of representation at both RFSA Branch and State Council level.

A member of Yanco/Yamoon Rural Fire Brigade, Peter helped with the formation of the Leeton RFSA Branch in 1998 and held the position of Branch Secretary for ten years and Chairperson for four years.   

He also represented RFSA Division 2 on the State Council for several years.  

Peter was actively involved in opening the mid-west Branch in the Carthool and Hay areas as well as opening a Branch and Division on the MIA Zone.

In addition, he was actively involved in organising several NSW RFS Region South forums at Gundagai and Leeton. 

The Association congratulates Walter, Brian and Peter on their recognition and achievement.   


President Tim Arnott awards Member of the Year Walter Gately


President Tim Arnott awards Life Member Brian McKinlay AFSM, OAM


President Tim Arnott awards Life Member Peter Middleton