In This Section

A+   A-

RFSA Announces Annual Awards Program

Wednesday, 14 March 2012

The RFSA is delighted to announce the inception of an annual Awards program to recognise its Members who make significant contributions to the Association.

There are three categories of Awards:

• Young Member of the Year;
• Member of the Year; and
• Life Member of the Year.

All successful recipients will receive a personal award, have their name engraved on an Honour board to be displayed in the RFSA Head office and will be invited to attend an appropriate and relevant national or international  conference.

“These Awards have been established to not only recognise our existing active members but to also inspire many more of our members to involve themselves with the work the RFSA does to help our members to protect the community.” announced Winnie Wilson, Chairman of the RFSA Honours and Awards Committee.

“I encourage members to recognise their fellow members they believe serve as a role model in the RFSA. Nominations are open from now and close on Monday 30 April, 2012.”

The Young Member of  the Year award aims to provide incentive to achieve excellence in the Association. Nominees must be under 30 year of age at the end of December 2012 and have been a registered RFSA member for two years. Nominations are required to detail their Association contribution in the 2011 calendar year.

Member of the Year nominees are required to have been an RFSA member for a minimum period of two years by the closure date for nomination. This category will be based on member’s contributions in the past  calendar year.

The prestigious award for Life Membership will be awarded to those members who have made significant, quality and sustained contribution towards the growth and success of the Association. Nominated individuals need to have been an RFSA member for a minimum period of 15 years by 30 April, 2012 and must have held an RFSA elected or appointed position for a total of eight years collectively.

Nominations forms, guidelines and policies for the three Award categories are available from the RFSA website click here or can be requested from RFSA Head Office, P: 4722 2122 or email

The nomination period for the inaugural awards program is  open now. The closing date to receive nominations is Monday 30 April, 2012. Upon closure of the nomination period the Honours and Awards Committee will review forms received and make final deliberations.

Recipients of the 2011 Awards will be announced and presented at a formal  RFSA function this year.