In This Section

A+   A-

RFSA Announces 2012 Scholarship Recipients

Monday, 25 June 2012

Recipients of the Rural Fire Service Association’s 2012 Scholarships were announced on Friday evening, June 22 at a State Council Dinner.

A total of four scholarships were awarded. Three RFSA volunteer members, Bevan Michel, Elizabeth Philpott and Stephanie Huysmans were awarded a Chris Lord Memorial Scholarship, named in honour of the late RFSA President. Elise Tasker, a Rural Fire Service salaried staff member received a President’s Scholarship.

The intent of the scholarship is to enhance the recipient’s professional and personal development.

“All four scholarship recipients are outstanding representatives of both the NSW Rural Fire Service Association and the NSW Rural Fire Service. They each have demonstrated a commitment to the fire service and to protecting their communities and expressed the desire and application to study and further enhance their skills in order to provide greater levels of community service,” said Brian McKinlay, the RFSA’s President.

“It is the Association’s pleasure to be able to assist these four members in their quest for further knowledge and skills and we wish them the best of success with their study.”

The RFSA provides annual scholarships. Applications generally open in April each year.

2012 RFSA Scholarship Recipients

Chris Lord Memorial Scholarships:
• Bevan Michel, Armidale Dumaresq FCC, Division 9, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment 
• Elizabeth Philpott, Repton Brigade, Division 2, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment 
• Stephanie Huysmans, Spring Hill/Huntley Brigade, Division 8, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

President’s Scholarship:
• Elise Tasker, Illawong Brigade, Division 4, Bachelor of Emergency Management, Charles Sturt University