In This Section

A+   A-

2019 RFSA Professional Development Scholarship Recipients Announced

Monday, 18 November 2019

The RFSA would like to congratulate the 2019 Professional Development Scholarship recipients. Scholarships were awarded at a ceremony on Saturday, 16 November 2019.


As part of the Association’s ongoing support for the state’s rural fire fighters, the RFSA provides annual scholarships for members who are considered to be outstanding representatives of both the NSW RFS and RFSA. The purpose of these scholarships is to:


•    Enhance the professional and personal development of Members;

•    Improve career development; and

•    Promote a high level of professional service to the community.



A total of seven scholarships were awarded for tertiary study in areas including Certificate IV in Training & Assessment, Graduate Certificate in Fire Investigation and an Advanced Diploma of Public Safety (Emergency Management).



2019 President’s Scholarship Recipients:


•    Casey Eales – Bilambil RFB in Division 1 – Advanced Diploma of Public Safety (Emergency Management); 


•    Glenn Locke – Nana Glen RFB in Division 2 – Certificate IV TAE upgrade;


•    Terry Neal – O’Connell RFB in Division 8 - Certificate IV in Training & Assessment;


•    Katherine Scott-Dickson – Narrabri HQ RFB in Division 10 - Certificate IV in Training & Assessment;


•    Matthew Walker – Graham RFB in Division 8 - Graduate Certificate in Fire Investigation;


•    Simon Waller - Warialda RFB in Division 10 - Graduate Diploma in Professional Supervision – Pastoral;



2019 Chris Lord Memorial Scholarship Recipient:


•    Leah Ross - Mullumbimby RFB in Division 1 – Graduate Certificate in Fire Investigation.





2019 Professional Development Scholarship Recipients (L-R) Matthew Walker, Casey Eales, Leah Ross, Katherine Scott-Dickson and Terry Neal.