A+   A-

2017 RFSA Professional Development Scholarship Recipients Announced

The NSW Rural Fire Service Association (RFSA) would like to congratulate the 2017 Professional Development Scholarship recipients.  Scholarships were awarded at the RFSA State Council Meeting on Saturday, 18 November 2017.

As part of the Association’s ongoing support for the State’s rural fire fighters, the RFSA provides annual scholarships for members who are considered to be outstanding representatives of both the NSW RFS and RFSA. The purpose of these scholarships is to:

  •          Enhance the professional and personal development of Members;
  •          Improve career development and;
  •          Promote a high level of professional service to the community.

A total of eight scholarships were awarded for tertiary study in areas including Certificate IV Training and Assessment, a Diploma of Public Safety (Emergency Management) and a Diploma of Business (Governance).

2017 RFSA Professional Development Scholarship Recipients:
  • Luke Amor - Wallaroo RFB in Division 7 – Advanced Diploma in Public Safety (Fire Investigation).

  • Michael Gapps – Orchard Hills & Winmalee RFB in Division 4 – Certificate IV Training and Assessment.

  • Stephanie Huysmans – Spring Hill/ Huntley RFB in Division 8 – Diploma in Public Safety (Emergency Management).

  • Jason Lewington – Tathra RFB in Division 6 – Diploma of Business (Governance).

  • Ian Luck – East Kurrajong RFB in Division 4 – Certificate IV Training and Assessment.

  • Amy Murphy – King Creek RFB in Division 3 – Bachelor of Social Science.

  • Benjamin Ware – Kangaroo Flat RFB in Division 8 – Certificate IV Training and Assessment.

  • Stephen Woodham – Barellan RFB in Division 16 -  Certificate IV Training and Assessment


(L-R) Stephanie Huysmans, Luke Amor, Benjamin Ware, RFSA President Ken Middleton, Amy Murphy, Stephen Woodham &
Jason Lewington at the presentation ceremony. 
Not pictured: Michael Gapps & Ian Luck.